skip to main content
Home » Sakai » Getting Started » Sakai: Edit rosters

Sakai: Edit rosters

Posted at 2:28 p.m. Aug. 14, 2014, by in Getting Started, Sakai

Sakai: Edit rosters

Generally, when you create your course site, you will select the appropriate roster, automatically giving site access to all registered students. Occasionally, you may need to revisit your selection.

Multiple rosters

Some Sakai sites will need to be linked to more than one roster, as in the case of a cross-listed course. During site creation, you may select multiple rosters from the list. If you have already created the site with one roster, simply:

  1. log into Sakai and click on the tab for your course
  2. choose Site Info from the left-hand menu
  3. click the top-row button “Edit Class Roster(s)” and you should see the first roster you chose listed
  4. click the top-row button “Add” and add a check mark before each of the other roster(s) that need access to this site
  5. scroll to the bottom of the page and click “Continue”
  6. on the confirmation page, you must click “Add Class(es)” to complete the process

Back at the Site Info home screen, you will see your updated participant list with students from both rosters. Note that each student will be identified with his or her registered section.

Re-attach roster

Occasionally, you may need to re-attach a roster if you can’t see the students in your participant list (sometimes this happens if you create the site before you’ve officially received access to the particular roster). Follow the directions above to add the official roster. If you need to delete an old “requested” roster, follow the directions below.

Detach roster

If you’ve made a mistake and attached the wrong roster to your Sakai site, don’t fret. Simply follow the directions under “Multiple rosters” (above) to add the correct roster, then delete the incorrect one:

  1. choose Site Info from the left-hand menu
  2. click the top-row button “Edit Class Roster(s)” and you should see all attached rosters in a list
  3. check the “Remove” box to the right of the offending roster
  4. click “Update”

You can confirm that the incorrect students have been removed from the participant list on the home screen of the Site Info tool.

Icons made by Madebyoliver from www.flaticon.com.