skip to main content
Home » Sakai » Getting Started » Sakai: Publish or unpublish a site

Sakai: Publish or unpublish a site

Posted at 2:13 p.m. Aug. 14, 2014, by in Getting Started, Sakai

Sakai: Publish or unpublish a site

Publishing an unpublished site

Sometimes you may create a course site in Sakai before you’re ready for students to see it. In this case, you’ll create the course, but not publish it (part of the regular creation process). When you’re ready to let the students access the course:

  1. log into Sakai fromĀ http://sakai.rutgers.edu
  2. click on the appropriate class tab across the top
  3. you’ll know it is unpublished if it says “unpublished site” with a red exclamation point at the top left
  4. click the “site info” tool in the left-hand tool bar
  5. along the top, click the “manage access” link
  6. check the “publish site” box and click “update” at the bottom
  7. wait for the processing to finish and then your site will be available to the students

Unpublishing a site

Often you’ll wish to “unpublish” a site after the semester is over. This means that the students in the site will no longer have access to it (and will no longer see the tab for that site), but you will still have access to the materials and student info. Many faculty prefer to unpublish a site rather than deleting it for those reasons.

  1. log into Sakai fromĀ http://sakai.rutgers.edu
  2. click on the appropriate class tab across the top
  3. click the “site info” tool in the left-hand tool bar
  4. along the top, click the “manage access” link
  5. UNcheck the “publish site” box and click “update” at the bottom
  6. wait for the processing to finish–you’ll know the site is unpublished when you see a note above the left-hand menu: “Unpublished Site” with a red exclamation mark.
Icons made by Madebyoliver from www.flaticon.com.